| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

View
 

ML_Meetings

Page history last edited by Kieran 4 days, 8 hours ago

Machine Learning in Astronomy Meetings

 

Regular fortnightly (i.e. every 2 weeks) informal zoom research meetings take place on https://uws.zoom.us/j/6448448129 and on the WSU Kingswood campus in room Y2.32 (the "Thinktorium"). Times were chosen by a Doodle poll, and will be revisited every 6 months.

 

Schedule of Meetings in 2021: 

  • 09/02/2021 1005 (AEDT) - Yuan-Sen Ting (ANU): "The Emergence of Deep Learning from A Physics Point of View". Slides Link. Download Link. Youtube Link.
  • 25/02/2021 1005 (AEDT) - Ashley Villar (Columbia University): "Anomaly Detection in Supernova-like Time Series". Download Link. YouTube Link.
  • 11/03/2021 1005 (AEDT) - John Wu (STSCI): "Insights on galaxy evolution and morphology using deep learning". Download Link. YouTube Link.
  • 25/03/2021 1005 (AEDT) - Kartheik Iyer (Dunlap): "Using Gaussian Processes to Decode the Star Formation History of Galaxies". Slides Link. Download Link. YouTube Link.
  • 08/04/2021 1005 (AEST) - Kate Storey-Fisher (NYU): "Detecting Anomalous Galaxies with Generative Adversarial Networks". Download Link. YouTube Link.
  • 22/04/2021 1005 (AEST) - Joshua Yao-Yu Lin (University of Illinois): "Feature Extraction on Synthetic Black Hole Images with Neural Networks". Paper Link. YouTube Link. Download Link.
  • 06/05/2021 1005 (AEST) - Michelle Boyce (Manitoba): "Extended X-ray emission associated with the radio lobes and the environments of 60 radio galaxies" YouTube Link. Download Link. Slides link
  • 20/05/2021 1905 (AEST) - Nikhel Gupta (CSIRO): "A deep learning method to estimate the mass of galaxy clusters" YouTube Link. Download Link.
  • 03/06/2021 1205 (AEST) - Ella Wang (ANU): "Interpolating synthetic lithium spectra in late-type stars" YouTube Link. Download Link.
  • 17/06/2021 1905 (AEST) - Rodrigo Carvajal (Institute of Astrophysics - University of Lisbon, Portugal): "Developing a ML pipeline to detect high-redshift Radio Galaxy candidates" YouTube Link. Download Link.
  • 01/07/2021 1205 (AEST) - Rabina Padhy (WSU) - "Data Imputation in Astronomical Data Sets for Redshift Estimation". YouTube Link. Download Link.
  • 15/07/2021 1905 (AEST) - No Meeting due to Astronomical Society of Australia Annual Science Meeting
  • 29/07/2021 1205 (AEST) - No Meeting
  • 12/08/2021 1905 (AEST) - Chayan Chatterjee (UWA): "Denoising and Parameter Estimation of Gravitational Wave Events using Deep Learning". YouTube Link. Download link.
  • 26/08/2021 1205 (AEST) - Paul Hurley (WSU) - "Imaging on the Sphere"
  • 09/09/2021 1905 (AEST) - Daniel Magro (Institute of Space Sciences and Astronomy, University of Malta): "Source Finding with Mask R-CNN". YouTube Link. Download Link
  • 16/09/2021 1505 (AEST) - Suk Yee Yong (CSIRO): "3D Galaxy Shape using Mixture Density Networks". YouTube Link. Download Link.
 

 

Meetings are fortnightly and rotate between a North-America friendly time, and a Europe-friendly time listed in the table below (time may not be accurate close to the daylight changeover period -  please check your local time against UTC).

 

 
UTC  Sydney Perth Paris
Denver
North America
Thursday 02:05AM
Thursday 12:05PM (AEST)
Thursday 10:05AM (AWST)
Thursday 04:05AM (CEST)
Wednesday 8:05PM (MDT)
Europe
Thursday 09:05AM
Thursday 07:05PM (AEST)
Thursday 5:05PM (AWST)
Thursday 11:05AM (CEST)
Thursday 03:05AM (MDT)

 

 

How to join the meeting remotely:

 

 

Format of Talks (suggestions for speakers)

The length is anything from 30 to 45mins - you choose. In any remaining time (the meeting is scheduled to last for up to 50 minutes) we will have an informal discussion about the topics you raise. I suggest you use a powerpoint/keynote/pdf, and expect people to chip in with questions, or even trigger a discussion, as you go along. I.e. the tone is relaxed and informal. Nobody is going to give you a hard time. Think of it as chatting with your peers about your work. Bear in mind that the audience ranges from data scientists who know little about astronomy to astronomers who know little about machine learning, so try to keep the jargon to a minimum, or explain It if you need to use it.

 

Recordings of Meetings in 2020

See this page

 

Recordings of Meetings in 2019

See this page

 

Recordings of Meetings in 2018 and earlier

See this page

 
Version:1.0 StartHTML:0000000105 EndHTML:0000038686 StartFragment:0000038405 EndFragment:0000038646 Stellenbosch University Stell

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.